XM 10k or Radium 20k For Shallow Reef???

Couldn't hurt to try out the 10k. Like I said I love the color. Once you see it you'll either love it or hate it. I happen to really enjoy those real shallow natural reef dive pics and would be happy for my tank to look like that.

So, I got off the phone with a BRS expert and was asking him about it. He basically said that while the 10k might give slightly better growth to some acropora species the difference isn't that significant that its worth going with the uglier, more yellow XM 10k over the radium. And he said, which obviously makes sense, good husbandry and stable parameters will make the corals grow most! And while I like the shallow reef look I feel like the 10k bulbs for whatever reason don't look the same (obviously because its not the sun) in the ocean and the 10k XM seems to make everything really dull. So I may just get another radium...

Thanks to everyone for all the input, I'm a broke college student so I make sure to do my research before making an expensive/long term purchase haha

Last edited:
Well, one man's "ugly yellow" 10K is another man's "bright white" 10K, just as one man's "slightly blue" 20K is another man's "windex blue" 20K, so beauty really is in the eye of the beholder with lighting preferences...

Either way good luck with your choice, and a different look is just a bulb change away... :)

Agree. The 10k subdued colors a little too much with no supplementation but I absolutely LOVED the look of 2x250watt xm10k with a buildmyled super actinic strip. I wish I could recreate that look with LEDs and get the same growth benefits but to get that look you have to turn the blues too low and it introduces too much red and everything gets mad

So I just found this link...http://reefkeeping.com/issues/2007-04/jb/index.php