12g Fluval Edge Reef Build

mygirlsbelieve

Hello everyone. I am a noob and I am sure it will show. :eek:
I just started a 12g fluval edge reef tank. Here is what I have so far

9lb LR (will be buying more, but waiting for a friend to buy in bulk)
20lb LS
240 GPH powerhead
50W Heater
Stock HOB filter (Am waiting on a HOB filter/skimmer to replace it, but have since learned from another forum that I need to get rid of the filter all together. Need clarification on that from other experienced reefers).
Upgraded lighting to 2 65W equivalent T5s

Livestock

2 Percs (Selling one back to LFS)
1 Damsel (Selling to LFS)
1 Engineered Goby (Selling to LFS--did not know until recently they grow to a foot long...EEEK) :headwally: Think I was my local LFSs dream
1 BTA

Clean up Crew
5 blue legged crabs
3 Astrea snails
1 Skunk shrimp
2 Peppermint shrimp

I want to have an ATO as I was told this is important to have for the success of my tank. Anyone experienced with fluvals, what ATO switch can I use that is not ugly and that will work for my type of tank? I was looking at the Tunze Nano ATO model, but I read in reviews it is only used for a sump, which I have no idea what that even is. Could anyone shed some light on this. Do I need a sump?

Also, do I need to not replace my HOB stock filter with the HOB filter/skimmer that I am waiting to come in the mail? Do I need to get rid of the HOB filter altogether? I am currently doing a 2 gallon water change weekly. I would like to buy some prettier seasoned LR, which is why I am waiting on my friend, because my LFS does not have much pretty rock to choose from.

Another related question I have is how do I keep the fish waste off the top of my beautiful snow white sand bed. I have a battery powered siphon and it works well but it also sucks up a lot of my fine sand, which I don't think is good, nor do I like. Any tips on how to keep my sand bed nice and clean would be greatly appreciated.