mattr

I have a standard 55G with a DSB. I'd like to get the 6010 and use the controller to adjust the flow so that it doesn't disturb the sand bed.

So I'm hoping someone can advise me what can I do with the controller?

I'd also like to have it pulse. What are the limitations on using this feature?

Thanks,
Matt

It seems that you made an excellent choice there although you may also consider two 6000 with a multicontroller instead of one 6000 with single controller (6010 kit).
Basically, you can pulse the output of the pump depending on your preference (i.e., 30% to 100% in a given time interval). As you may already know Tunze pump is better than other ordinary powerhead since it can slowly change the output from 30% to 100% without turning it on and off.
I think Tunze Stream is the best pump in terms of quality of performance and durability.

I am not an expert so that other more experienced people could also answer your question until Roger comes back.

If you've got a sump, then place the return on one side of the tank (opposite the overflow), and put the stream on the other side (w/the overflow). The single controller pulses the stream between two settings. On a 55 you can probably still get away w/the 30% and 100% settings provided your DSB is established and "sticky". Add the night sensor and it will kick the pump down to the low setting when the lights go off. Depending on your rockwork and corals, the 6010 will "bounce back" from the far wall and w/the pulsing you will get all kinds of turbulent flow, but the DSB should be ok. The settings can be as low as 30% and as high as 100% (duh), and anywhere in between cause it's a dial...you can also adjust the pulse frequency. There's also a "feed" button that'll cut the pump off for a few minutes. It's a great powerhead, the only downside is the size....it is pretty prominent in a 55.....