Andre Agassi College Preparatory Academy Reef Project

agassiprepreef

Hello,

My name is Thai, and I am posting to let the local community know about the reef project that has been initiated at the Andre Agassi College Preparatory Academy in the heart of Las Vegas.

I am a physics teacher at AACPA, but I'm a reef-aholic any other time of day. I've been keeping reefs here in Vegas since '99 but took a break from the hobby since '06. I used to be a very active member of the Vegas reefing public, as well as on RC, previous to the break. However, it seems so much has changed in the LFSs as I noticed a lot of new faces.

Since teaching at AACPA, the biology department head and I have gotten together to make it possible to house a reef aquarium in the school. We feel a reef aquarium is a tremendous learning tool for the biology department. The interest this unique display will generate can be nurtured and molded to give classes passing through the school a renewed respect for science. We are also the only institution in Nevada to house any reef "exhibit". This reef fits this school's mantra quite well as we are bringing an underwater experience to underpriveledged students who have never seen these reef sights, and may never.

I have already had the pleasure of meeting some of you in my recent trips throughout Vegas' LFSs, both newer and established. I thank you kindly for the support already given to us including some equipment and supplies to begin the reef project.