AquaMega: My electronics design project

waverz

Slave to the reef!
I have been attending a Community College for 3 years now and am majoring in Electronics Engineering Technology. One of the classes in the course lets a pick an electronics design project to build. The first semester was basically just choosing what to build and designing it. This semester we actually get to build what we designed.

Being I am a long time avid fish nerd I choose to build an Arduino based aquarium controller. The build I choose was inspired by reefprojects.com.

Here are the parts I choose:

Arduino Mega 2650
ENC28J60 Ethernet Shield for Arduino MEGA 2560 / 1280
I2C/IIC DS1307 Real Time Clock RTC Module for Arduino
Arduino I2C Serial 2004 LCD Module 20X4 IIC TWI LCD
Arduino Digital Temperature Sensor module DS18B20 (not water proof)
Waterproof Digital Thermal Probe or Sensor DS18B20
4*4 Matrix Keyboard Key Membrane Switch Keypad Arduino

I am planning on ordering the Chauvet sr-8 relay pack soon. I was going to go with the American Dj Power outlet strip and wore the relays myself but the Chauvet relay pack is already wired and was basically the same price when all said in done. I would just need to build a cable for it to interface with the controller...I think. :hmm6:

I am a total newb when it comes to programming so all of this is a real challenge to me. My instructor is somewhat proficient in C but the class size is quite large and isn't able to really help me out much. I am hoping someone here or on the arduino forums can aid me as I get deeper into the project.

So far I have a working digital clock as well as a semi working digital thermometer that displays the ambient air temperature.

For some reason I can't get the waterproof sensor working. I have added the needed pullup resistor but I may be doing something wrong.

I haven't started messing with any of the Ethernet stuff yet but would love to be able to get data logging working via pachube soon.