Can I modify this 125 gallon stand?

saiyan7702

Hey everyone I'm new to the hobby and I picked up this tank setup for freshwater and I would like to build a 30g sump under it.That should be big enough right? but it wont fit due to the poorly designed stand. The tank is already filled and on top of it. I was thinking of knocking out center walls and squeezing legs in there so I would have a gap between them to slider a tank through. Any help or ideas would be great. thanks everyone.

http://www.petsmart.com/fish/aquari...rium-ensemble-zid36-28286/cat-36-catid-300065

Your kidding... right?
I would not.
Empty the tank. Take it off the stand. Then mod the stand. IMO

lmao yea its pretty insane to do it while the tank is on there its just that i literlaly just filled the tank...hahaa, fml. There was like no place to buy tanks this big except petsmart and it came with such a shitty stand.

Personally, I would take the tank off that stand and build one that will actually work for your purposes. That stand is almost certainly made from Melamine (particle board) and so, even if it could be modified, won't hold up well long term anyway.

just sucks because if i build a whole new stand thats another like 150 bucks then i gotta figure out where im gonna put the old one. Yes it is particle board, idk why such an expensive setup came with a wal-mart type stand. I had the 75 gallon version of this tank before and it had the perfect stand.

The stand i just build for a 500 gallon tank cost 60 bucks, lumber at Home depot.. And thats with buying a box of screws... I did save 25 bucks as I already had the sheet of 3/4 ply...

I dont think you could spend 150 unless you realy tried...

use a sledgehammer, the old stand will fit in a garbage can in 10 mineuts flat..

lumber list for the stand bellow.

6, 2x4x10' 4.50 each 27.00
3, 4x4x8' 7.50 each 22.50
1 1/2 sheet 3/4 plywood. (already had laying around but would cost 25.00)
1 box 3 1/2" deck screws. 9.00