How to cure dry/live rock!

iperry023

Hi, I am a beginner who has been doing pretty good research on how to begin a marine aquarium. I'm also doing it on a budget. I received a 55-gallon stand and aquarium from a friend and have begun planning my purchases and steps that I will go through setting it up.

Right now, my biggest curiosity is how I should cure my live rock. Also, I'm slightly confused on the differences between curing and cycling. I am going to order 50 Lbs of pukani rock for aquascaping. I understand that this will leave me with lots of extra, but in being budget friendly one thing I want to splurge on is how the permanent decoration of the tank will finally look, and who knows what I'll do with the rest.

I want to purchase one good sized live rock to include in the tank to get some good coralline growth. When I cure my dry rock should I cure the live rock in with it? But if I do that I fear I might start a cycle, from the death of the organics on it (which I will take the time to clean off as much as I can before this). But I also understand that a cycle would start with the pukani dry rock anyways? Is a cure the same thing as a cycle? Except allowing only their good bacteria to remain by the end of it to start a new cycle in the new tank? How necessary is curing? I am excited but will be patient to get it up and running, first I was factoring in 4-6 extra weeks for cycling but now with both processes possibly 6-10!

I'm just not sure, I thank you in advance for any advice!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk