Is a UV worth installing and using ?

Johnic

Premium Member
Wondering if a Uv light is worth installing to prevent certain algae blooms and parasites ?

I have no experience with UV but I hear that they can be useful. I’ve heard a lot depends on flow rate

At the size and power sold to hobby… no. Even many times oversized, keeping the tube clean enough to be effective is going to be tough. Also if it did work it would be killing everything, not just bad organisms that pass through.

Started using a 25 watt UV on my 115 mixed reef 1 1/2 years ago. Had been and still use a algae scrubber. Tank algae is minimal, the stuff in the scrubber is bright and robust. Tank numbers have never been better, and my water is SO clear. I had to clean the lamp often at first, but now only monthly and it’s very light.
Bulbs and sleeves are pricey, but I picked one of each up during Black Friday. They’ll probably be on sale in the summer too.
Overall, yeah, it was worth it to me. My reef looks great!

I would argue that the tank’s ecosystem has simply matured with no real effect from the UV… at the same time, as long as you are happy, that Is all that matters. Your talking to a guy that hasn’t checked salinity or done a water change in 4+ years!

I would argue that the tank’s ecosystem has simply matured with no real effect from the UV… at the same time, as long as you are happy, that Is all that matters. Your talking to a guy that hasn’t checked salinity or done a water change in 4+ years
I do check salinity, but I don't see any difference in water quality per the claim to fame of using them

Depends on what you are using it for.

Parasites yes but require slow rates and a high enough wattage. They really though have a hard time eradicating them completely but can slow them down giving the fish some relief or time to build up some natural immunity.