July 2014 ROTM---Zoodiver!!

Nanook

Ancient Eskimo Legend
Staff member
RC Mod
First of all, I want to thank you guys for considering me for this honor. I feel like there are dozens of other members who would be more fitting for this.

My fish story is probably different than most in the hobby - mostly because it grew right out of the hobby. I started off keeping tanks at home in the early 80’s. I was a fish guy from day one. Nothing fancy to start with, and mostly fresh water. My first aquarium was a slate bottom glass tank held together with a metal frame filtered by an air stone inside a box of carbon. Growing up in the Midwest was not a great place to start a life working with fish, but I did what I could to gain experience. I started working with the North Dakota Game and Fish Department right out of high school. In college, I majored in wildlife biology (more diverse than the typical marine biology).

I knew I wanted to turn my hobby into my career. I was lucky enough to land an aquarist job at the Dallas World Aquarium and my career took off. The years of hands on experience I gained there has been invaluable to me. The ability to work directly under both the owner and a curator who had more combined knowledge than all of the books I had read allowed me to grow quickly. I left my home size tanks behind and traded up to displays that were hundreds of thousands of gallons. I was shown design, construction and modification of habitats. I learned permitting, collection and transport. But most importantly I learned the value of a solid routine to prevent problems from happening. Along with the freshwater and large marine displays, I was handed several 1500 reef displays to care for, that all featured very species designs to showcase different reef locations worldwide. Having a reef large enough you get in to clean it was probably a little like being thrown to the lions when it came to learning, but I made it out alive.