Mild rant... a better way?

Prairie Reef

As I'm putting together my tank, I'm struck by how "backwards" trying to buy fish and coral are in the information age. It is clear that the industry is focused on "pretty" fish rather than what is responsible to put in a tank.

How would fish buying change if rather than lots of pictures of "saltwater" fish you put in your tank parameters (size, reef, FOWLR, sump, skimmer, peaceful/aggressive, etc) and a three choice novice, experienced, advanced and it presented the fish that fit those categories? All that info is already on the web pages, but you have to flip back and forth and look through them all to find what "fits."

:angryfire: This is a clear example of how the way the buying process is set up facilitates irresponsible purchases.

Rant over - sorry - sometimes I wish I was a programmer... Thanks for the guidance of forums like Reef Central!!

OMG - that would have saved me soooooo much time and fretting - HA - I knew there had to be something like that out there. I was just thinking to myself about how much easier it was to buy my car than find fish!! Thanks - I'll be using that!

First you select the type of fish, clowns etc. etc. then on the right hand side you can narrow the search by a few choices. Agressiveness, minimum tank size, reef compatability and dificulty are a few.

I just noticed that our tanks are very similar. I started mine from scratch in Jan, and I am loving it! Good luck with yours.:bounce2:

Thanks all! I appreciate the suggestion of Live Aquaria. They do seem to make the best effort at giving good information!

You would still get those that believe that their skills are higher then they are and purchase the more difficult species. Or they would think simply because they spent all this money their system would support them even though their tank is weeks past cycling.