My Master Plan

dutchone

I have been collecting the items I need to build my dream tank for the last two years. I have put a lot of thought into this project, and I want it to be perfect. I also want it totally automated! I also wanted to build the automation into the design, and have it all tested and perfected before the first bit of salt water touches it.

So, first I had a custom 188 gallon tank built by Oceanic’s custom department. I know the volume is unusual, but the dimensions are 60”x24”x30”. It has a center overflow that’s 15”x6” with three holes drilled to accept 1 ½” bulkheads. I had them drill four holes in the back glass for ¾” return jets. Oceanic did an incredible job. Every edge of each glass pane is diamond beveled and the caulk job is razor straight. It was well worth the bloody fortune it cost me.

There is going to be a 35 gallon refugium, a 66 gallon sump, and two 16 gallon surge tanks. I am waiting for the quotes from five different vendors on cutting the pieces for me. I will assemble them myself. The idea for the over all look came from 180tank.com, which I found here. His web site isn’t up any longer, a bummer because it was damn nice.

Here’s a quick list of the equipment I have purchase, then I’ll discuss what I want to do automation wise.

Two Dolphin Ampmaster pumps
Korallin Calcium Reactor, Milwaukee gauges w/solenoid valve, Milwaukee PH controller, and 10 lb. CO2 tank
SVS2-24 in sump Skimmer with a Rio pump
Two Hayward 1 ½” electric actuated ball valves
Four Hayward ¾” solenoid valves
Three T5 electric ballasts, end caps and individual reflectors for 6 T5HO bulbs
Three 20K T5 bulbs
Three Actinic T5 bulbs
The Ocelot PLC controller
Aqua Medic doser pump to feed the calcium reactor
Itronix IX250 850 MHz laptop w/touch screen
Four Dwyer ¾” SFI Flow Meters w/A711 Transmitter