New and doing research! What would you suggest for a new 55 gallon reef tank?

ARae

Hello everyone!

I am just beginning my research adventure because this June I am moving to a new place and inheriting a 55 gallon tank, and I would like to start my first saltwater adventure!

I have been reading and watching lots of videos over the past few days, but I'm starting to get a little overwhelmed. I just thought I would reach out and see what you guys think.

What are some general suggestions/setups/fish suggestions that you might have for a beginning 55 gallon reef tank?

Thanks for the help!

Make sure the video's you watch are giving you correct information.
A lot give you advice that will lead to the death of your fish ;o;
Research everything you do.
It doesn't mean anything to do something without understanding why you are doing it.

Good luck and send pics when it is setup! :D

Somebody needs to give you the Welcome banner.

First congratulations on the new tank. And congratulations to you for knowing about and reading on reef central. Your use of this website is the single best thing you can possibly do to ensure success for your new tank. Read, read,read here. You will save yourself thousands of dollars and avoid numerous fish deaths.

As far as fish, you have lots of choices. It looks like you've already decided that you want a reef tank, So that rules out many pretty fish who will eat corals. Good decision by the way. Corals are very pretty. Your next decision is whether you want aggressive species or not. E.g, clown trigger, lion fish, groupers. If so, then that rules out a lot of smaller fish who would be prey.