New and researching

JW Frink

New to saltwater. I am a disabled Vet and I have had many freshwater tanks in the past. I am still in the research phase of building a reef tank. I would like to build one tank so I am gonna go with a 300 gal. reef tank. I am interested in softies and I really like the zoanthids. So, I will check threads often as part of my research and will let you know when I actually get it up and running. My main questions are about the cycling of the tank (should I do it without lights?) And will coralline algae grow naturally or do I have to "seed" it...? Thanks and I welcome any and all advice in the future.

Welcome to Reef Central, and thank you for your service, I'm a Marine. Look through tanks and build threads. This should give you lots of ideas.

Welcome, thank you for your service and I look forward to following your progress.

As for cycling the tank, there are a lot of bacterial products on the market these days that allow you to, "instantly" cycle a tank. You might want to look into some of those.

As for the rock structure, depending on you budget, you could go with dry rock (such as Caribsea, Real Reef, Marco Rock, etc.), REAL Live Rock or a combination of the two. There are some good companies that provide aquacultured live rock here in the US such as Tampa Bay Saltwater, KP Aquatics, Gulf Live Rock, and Salty Bottom Reef Company. Australian live rock is also available but, it is a bit pricy at around $25 per pound.

I personally have always left the lights on during a cycle, especially when using live rock to help keep any hitchhiking corals and macroalgae alive.