New Aquarium setup advice

Spearfisher88

Hello Everyone,

I have grown out of my 25 gallon cube and have decided that I have to add a larger tank to my house. So after some research and a great price I decided to go with a new PNP SC Aquarium for now. I am still pretty new at the hobby and have the basics down. That being said I would like to ask some advice on a couple of things while setting up the new tank.

If I take water from the cube as well as some of the live rock will that allow the tank to cycle almost instantly (or at least in a week or so)?

Also I am planning on making the primary aquascape out of new dry rock. Do I need to do anything with the dry rock before putting it into the tank or is it good to go out of the box? Planning on ordering from bulk reef supply.

Side not. I will eventually take the live rock from 66 cube out and put back into the 25 cube.

Thanks for the help everyone and I will post plenty of pictures of the build. Should be receiving the tank Friday :lolspin: :lolspin:

I have done this a few time, I went from a 12 gallon to a 36 and now to a 40 breeder. In my case, I have moved everything from one tank to the next, except the sand and have not had a cycle. However, a larger jump with just some of the live rock might be different.

Just as a precaution, I would get Dr. Tim one and only and add it to the new tank to help ensure the bacteria population is enough.

http://www.drtimsaquatics.com/

I would cycle the dry rock ahead of time separate from your livestock. A bucket or small tub with a powerhead is fine.

Transferring the water will not help the cycle since almost all of the beneficial bacteria is on the live rock or sand.

If you are going to transfer your sand, make sure you rinse it extremely well or you could cause a cycle and kill your livestock when you move the tank over. I'm speaking from a very painful experience on this one, unfortunately.