New to hobby

WYA123

Hello everyone:wavehand:,
I have been keeping freshwater tanks for 3 years now and i have decided to take a plunge into the saltwater world. I will be getting the new tank at the end of this year. I have read about saltwater tanks and fish during my free time so i feel like I am ready, but since I am new to this hobby and freshwater and saltwater is quite different, I came here to ask you guys :).
The tank will be a 90cm by 90cm by 45cm acrylic tank. It will be placed directly on the floor in my living room, so no stand, but it will be on an aquarium mat.
The sump will be a 90cm by 45cm by 50cm acrylic tank and iw will be placed directly behind the display tank. Water will be pumped into the sump by pumps and into the sump and then will flow out of the sump into the display tank through holes that will be drilled. I will not be having skimmers and will only have two media reactors most likely filled with carbon. The water from the display tank will go through the reactors before going into the sump, which will have a deep sand bed with live rock and macroalgae.There will be adequate light for the algae. Is this a good idea?
For the stocking, I want unique fishes that are not usually safe with corals as I will not be keeping any corals. Some of the fish i have in mind are angels, butterfly fishes, puffers and boxfish, especially the spotted blue boxfish, but i am open to any suggestions.
Finally, I still haven't decide on the aquascape as I feel that it is highly dependent on the fish chosen, but there will be no corals and will have only macroalgae, so i need cuc that is macroalgae safe. It will have a deep sand bed as well(arnd 5").
Thank you in advance :)

You really need to look at the specific fish you want and check their minimum recommend tank sizes before doing anything..
A boxfish needs a bigger tank.. 180G (680L) minimum.. They can get up to 10"(25cm) long... Many butterflyfish need a larger tank too..