Noob questions about installing a sump

LVMuruguy

Hi all,

I'm very new to salt water (kept freshwater tanks years ago). I wish I had found this forum earlier as I would have made different purchase decisions!

I have a 55 gallon (non drilled) tank that I've had setup for about a week with life rock and live sand mixed with aragonite. I'm currently waiting for it to cycle. The LFS told me to buy a few hardy fish to get the cycle started (after reading here, I see that was bad advise). I have a .5 ammonia reading today, so I think I'm underway with the cycle.

After doing further research and finding this forum, I decided I should try to setup a sump for all the added benefits. Being a complete newbie at this, I have several questions that I guess fall into two categories. The first is related to the equipment I have in mind to install in the sump. The second category is related to the actual construction. I read the articles related to pumps and sumps on this forum and while I find them extremely informative, I'd have peace of mind getting feedback from someone who knows what they're doing!

On a local reef Facebook page I found a used Eshopps AEO15005 Refugium for a decent price which I purchased.

Equipment Questions
I'm considering ordering the following equipment for this project:

-Bubble Magus BM-Curve 5 Protein Skimmer
-Hygger 24V DC Water Return Pump 800 GPH (adjustable speed)
-Blue Ocean 600 Overflow box (600 GPH)
-Aqual Lift/powerhead pump to keep siphon for the overflow box

Unfortunately I didn't buy a drilled tank so I need to use an overflow box. Any advise or feedback on this setup is much appreciated. I intend to eventually setup a refugium in the sump in the future as well.

Construction questions