Switching to LEDs

Vorog

I do not want to take over someone else's thread. I will start my own. So as the title states I want to make the switch to full spectrum LED's. I really want the radion pro but I was told the reefbreeders are very nice as well and about half the price. I have a nano (29 aga) drilled standard size 30"". Would you guys recommend the reefbreeder 16 or 24? And if you have reefbreeders currently can you give me your input or FTS pics with them on. Thank you for the feedback in advance guys!

I should note I have a mixed reef softies, LPS, some SPS and I do plan on upgrading to a 120g tank in the future so that's why I wanted the radion pro

You could likely do the 16 if you raised the fixture up high enough, and turned the leds up higher. Personally I'd go with the 24 though, especially if you're upgrading in the future. I also think they're better than radions. I've been using bridgelux leds for 5 years with good results. And the reefbreeders fixtures use better whites.

I would go with the biggest you can fit, so 24 inch. I also run Reefbreeders and have had good luck (even with a 30" deep tank). I do supplement with T5's also. FT shot is hard for me as I stink at photographs and also depending on time of day, colors are different. Your welcome to stop over anytime and take a look at my tank. I can change settings so you can see different intensities and with/without T5's etc.

mike

Just going to put my 2 cents in here.

I have ran radions on multiple tanks and have had everything from Gen 1 -Gen 3's now. Yes you pay a little more for them but you have top notch customer service with them. Also they hold their value which is a good sign of a good product. Plus if you want and they come out with some new ground breaking technology you can always upgrade them. Which brings me to my next point. Might not be a bad idea, might want to get an older unit and send it to them to have them upgrade it to a gen 3 or a gen 3 pro.