warning clicks?

SuperChimps

Hi All,

so i'm new to the reef thing.. my tank has been set up about a month and I've gotten to the point where i want to start adding livestock. The thing is I've heard clicking sounds on and off since the LR went in. So I'm assuming it's either a mantis or a pistol shrimp. I've tried the bottle trap a bunch of times with no luck. Once i thought i saw a tiny blue shrimp like creature shoot past an opening in the rock, but it was so quick i couldn't id it. It was only 1/2 inch long, would something that size be capable of producing the loud clicks i hear?

also I have read that the pistol shrimp will give off 'warning clicks' if your disturbing it, whereas a mantis will only click when striking to burrow or hunt. Now when i hunt for the elusive critter with a torch, shining the light into certain areas seems to elicit a few clicks... so does that suggest its a pistol shrimp annoyed at the light?

sorry i know its a topic discussed to death, but just concerned about putting expensive inverts into a dangerous environment. And i don't harbour any ill will towards mantis's in general - if it is one i'll re-home it safely

thanks for any advice

If you can starve the tank...(since it's new and empty basically).

You could coax a Stomatopod out...they have vast appetites and if you put some meat on a skewer and slowly make your way around the live rock and places you suspect it is, the Stomatopod (if it is that) will likely make itself known and have a go at the food.

I have a couple of pistol shrimps and there click is way louder than you'd expect.

The reaction to shining the light would suggest it's a pistol, but you're better off being sure before you add anything else. You definitely don't want a mantis in there once you've added livestock!

thanks guys,