Any free-divers on RC? What's your static breathhold?

scubadan206

I'm fairly new to freediving, but I can max out my bottom time at 4:30 in the local pool. I will get in more dives on our January trip to Bonaire.
Show off what you can do here.....

Daniel. :wildone:

I can do approx. 3 mins at about 30ft of swimming around near the bottom, wish I had the time to practice more often.
When diving though you expend much energy in swimming around so your time could drop from 4mins to 3mins or less.
But if you are interested in static breathhold you won't enjoy the fishies at 20-40ft lol

Are you planning to use weight belts?

The only time I was diving in salt, I was essentially by myself, so I was being very cautious. I was spending about a minute at the bottom plus time up and down. Basically just getting used to the pressure and adjusting to equalizing very quickly. I was comfortable at about 35-40 feet. I was wearing a 5 mil wetsuit and using 14 pounds of lead.
The other times I freedive is in our little lake up north. It is only 20 feet deep max and is spring fed. So it has a massive thermocline at only 1-2 feet. I usually just stay at the top since it can easily be 20 degrees colder 5 feet down.
I too wish I had more time to practice. [Also wish I had the ocean out my front door.]:D

when i head to Oz again someday, you've got to tell me where to go diving....would kill to see some acans in the wild

I can do approx. 3 mins at about 30ft of swimming around near the bottom, wish I had the time to practice more often.
When diving though you expend much energy in swimming around so your time could drop from 4mins to 3mins or less.
But if you are interested in static breathhold you won't enjoy the fishies at 20-40ft lol

Are you planning to use weight belts?

3 minutes bottom time is awesome!!
I can max out my lengths/laps underwater at 75 meters if I really push. That works out to a little more than 1:30 while swimming