California de-barbing wild rays!?

Greysoul

So after looking them over this is the forum I felt best suited for this post... if not please relocate it?

I just was looking at the LA Times picture gallery and came across this from last week:

http://framework.latimes.com/2011/05/24/stingrays/

it seems a group of surfers and university biologists are catching rays at Seal Beach and cutting off their barbs. Am I the only one who has a problem with this? I think not...

As I'm not a property owner of resident of California my opposition to this is academic at best, but I would implore any residents of that state to contact their local representatives in the state congress or municipality if you're near Seal Beach and ask what's going on with this....

What's next, de-clawing bears and filing down sharks teeth?

Despicable.

-Doug

Doug,

I agree - what a senseless thing to do. The rays shed their barbs every few months anyway, so this process would have to be repeated over and over again.
Here is a thing: so, once they've "de-barbed" all these rays and somebody THEN gets stung - that person should be allowed to sue the beach patrol / life guards because they obviously didn't do their job correctly! That should put a stop to the practice.

Maybe somebody needs to go out there and spray insecticide on all the honeybees because they cause more deaths every year than sharks do!

Bill

They used to do the same thing a few years ago I think on the same beach, but then they found out the barbs grow back after less than a year so they stopped. Either way stingrays lose their barbs a lot of the time when they sting something so it's not something unnatural or painful for them.