Clam ID Request

iced98lx

This was sold to me as a Derasa, which was one of the species that fit my tank positioning (high light, but a clam that was happy being on the sand bed with proper rock to adhere to).

After getting it home and reading more about Derasa clams it appears this may not be one, based on the ribbing on the shell. Your opinion on ID is welcome.

It is a rather dull brown/black/gold coloration on the mantle with 5 scallops. I can get top downs fully open if that would help.

37603957032_af0bed64d7_b.jpg

The numerous closely spaced scutes combined with the lack of incurrent siphon tentacles has me puzzled. The mantle is pushing me toward thinking I've accidentally bought a gigas but I am by no means a clam expert...

Also, note that below the obvious scutes it is smooth the bottom 1/3 of the shell and appears to be fairly symmetrical.

It looks like a maxima or crocea. I'm leaning towards maxima due to its mantle and acute on the side. I need to look into my books more to confirm though.

Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk

Thank you all for the input I sincerely appreciate it as I try to give this guy a chance at growing up.

Do Crocea / Maxima often lack incurrent siphon tentacles as juveniles? I can't find any clam species documents suggesting they don't have them which is what throws me off the most.

I could be very wrong (so don't get discouraged until you hear from others or research a little more),but the Clam looks a little stressed to me. Overall, it looks great, but it looks like it might be beginning to gape a bit. Thus the lack of the filaments that you are searching for. Google image search "gaping reef clam" and you will see that the filaments are retracted due to the stretching.

Like I said, I could be wrong. But when I saw the original picture, my first thought was, "It looks like it's gaping". Just keep an eye on it and good luck! :bigeyes: