Complete beginner here! Just wanted to say hi.

TikiThunder

Greetings from Creve Coeur! Just thought I'd introduce myself.

I've kept freshwater in the past, and have always wanted to try my hand at the salt side. My wife and I welcomed our second son in December, and I've needed something to keep me going in those late night feedings so I've been researching reef tanks hard. I've just about made it through BRS's entire youtube catelog. I have permission from the wife, a place picked out in the house, and am just looking for the right deal to come along on a 50 or 60 gallon tank.

I was pleasantly surprised to find this community here in town! If anyone can suggest a local shop that is good for beginners, I'd love to hear about it. I also have a strong back and a weak mind, so if anyone ever needs a hand lifting something heavy and doesn't mind the dozen questions that will come along with it, just let me know. Hope to see some of you around one day!

Cheers!
-Kevin

Welcome to Reef Central! I've been in the hobby for a while, and I really like Seascape Studio & the Corner Reef. Let me know if you have any questions. Also, there's a Facebook group that's really active if you want to meet more locals.

Welcome to RC! Not from StL but I know @griss just recently posted a list of LFS’s but I can’t find it.

Welcome Kevin. I've been in the hobby since the mid 1980's so I've seen a lot of LFS come and go over the years. Here's my take on the LFS in our area. Unfortunately, being in Creve Coeur there's isn't a really good LFS (at least that I know of) near you. I'm in the same boat out in Wildwood.

Petland (Wentzville) - Never been there, but heard they have SW.
Marine Solutions (St. Charles) - Haven't been there in years so, I'm unsure how good they are.
Corals & More (St. Charles) - I've only been there once and (during COVID). At the time, they had very limited livestock but that could have been due to COVID lockdowns.