Disposal of water after water changes

Emmalemma

Hi everyone! I'm going to do my first water change this weekend and am thinking about the most responsible way to dispose of the water. What do you all do? It seems it might be hard on the plumbing to flush it; I was thinking of using at least part of it to kill some weeds in my yard; dumping it in a storm drain is both illegal and probably bad for the environment. So... thoughts?

By the way, I'm a total newb, so please forgive me if this has been asked and answered--I did a search but didn't see a comprehensive discussion.

Many thanks!
Em

Flushing it is fine, and not any harder on the plumbing than other things that normally get flushed ;) Using it as a weed killer will also prevent good plants from growing as well, so not a good idea.

I've been curious about this too. I dump it into the gravel in my driveway. I don't want weeds growing there anyway.
I can't flush it (although that would be sweet) because I have a septic system and eventually all of the saltwater will end up in the yard.
Hoping to hear some great ideas on this.

ive always wondered this. I normally dump in my backyard. but started to worry, am I slowlly killing this 200ft tall tree that will eventually fall on my house....

it depends on how much water your changing out and your climate. You could just pour it in a drum and let it evaporate if you live in a hot climate. I just pour it down the drain now.

I usually just drop it in the toilet. The city has a water treatment plant, so i would assume most stuff would get destroy before entering to the greater area.

But if you dump the water in your lawn, doesn't it disallow any future growths on the soil?

I remember a simpson's episode that homer salted ned's yard and things couldn't grow anymore. Heh

I turn a valve and let it go pump into the main house drain...Plumbed that in years ago.