Invasive marine organisms

Caio Carvalho

Hi, I'm doing a work about the international trade of animals and it consequences. I'll specificly talk about invasive marine organisms. And I'd like to know if anyone knows anything about it and where I can find some research.
Ow, I'm a Law student, so if the information talks about the legal terms, it would be better.

Thanks, Caio.

Caulerpa and Lionfish are two of the bigger invasives that have been traced back to trade. The majority of invasives have been linked to accidental ship transport and ballast water.

The majority of invasives have been linked to accidental ship transport and ballast water.
I'd say "vast majority" rather than just "majority".

A quick Google search also brought up escapees from aquaculture facilities as an impact from another form of international trade, as opposed to the ornamental (aquarium) trade.

If you want legal minutiae, try .gov sites, and a law school library. The USDA National Agricultural Library has a section on aquatic (and marine) invasive species, complete with citations of various state and federal laws, international law, and international agreements.

Caulerpa and Lionfish are two of the bigger invasives that have been traced back to trade. The majority of invasives have been linked to accidental ship transport and ballast water.

Actually both are mere speculations, but don't take that as me saying the trade doesn't contribute. I live in near a bay that is largely taken over by invasives mainly from ballast discharge as non are aquarium critters.

http://www.sccat.net/ should be able to assist on the Caularpa issue.

It's a lot more than just speculation.