Is it LEGAL To Frag and Sell in Florida? Need your help!

Fanatical

Good day all.

I am a law student in Orlando, FL and this fall semester I will be writing a research paper with the topic: "To Frag or Not to Frag?" with emphasis on the legality of selling fish/coral from our saltwater aquariums as a hobbyist.

Currently, it appears that it is not legal to sell saltwater fish or coral unless you have a license. Florida has statutes that cover this issue (licensing, etc) and the Fish and Wildlife Commission have their own set of regulations regarding the matter. My professor used to work with the Florida Legislature writing laws so I will include proposed language to change the statutes and regulations to include mention of our hobby and hopefully get my paper submitted to the legislature and the commission to be discussed. I want to make a difference and change the statutes and regulations to forward our hobby.

I'm writing this to get information from the community.

Specifically:

1) any statutes or regulations that you have come across that in any way apply to this topic.

2) contacts at FWC or other agencies that I may be able to get in touch with to get official answers from (personal message me contact info - please do not post personal email/phone info on the message board)

3) how you would like the law changed if you could write the revised version

4) References to scholarly research done on this topic (I need to find actual references for this topic - using a message board won't work on a scholarly paper)

5) anything else that you may deem relevant to this topic

I am asking for positive responses that will help me to create a legitimate scholarly piece of work that CAN affect positive change for Florida reef keepers. I understand that the current laws are not ideal for our love of the hobby so please respond with information that I can use to make a difference.