Journal of a 60g shallow reef and aquaman cave

Hello folks, how's it going? My name's Phil and I'm proud to proclaim that I'm a planted tank enthusiast with a strong interest in corals. I'm an aquatic plant biologist and biogeochemist by training. Over the years I've had passing affairs with nano reefs, but haven't really lived in one place long enough to establish a sizable long-term and large (for me) reef setup. Being a researcher and consultant isn't the most stable career in a bad economy. :( Times have changed and I now find myself in a position, both job and aquarium wise, which I never thought I'd be in. I'm now working in the aquatics industry as a scientist, and as part of my job I've been told to set up a reef tank. Terrible, isn't it? :lol2: This baby's going to be a Stony Only Mostly SPS tank. All softies, gorgs, and colonial polyps are going in the sump.

What follows is both a journal of my reef build and the progression of the aquarium room, aka Aquaman Cave, that it will be living in. These tanks are both personal aquarium as well as test tanks so I can try out different combinations of old and developing products to see how they perform. I know this is REEF Central, not Aquatic Plant Central, but my friends in the plant community wanted to see the reef progress too so I figured I'd share it all with you here too; with emphasis on the reef, of course.

Credit for this journal goes to cableguy over at The Planted Tank. He asked for it in my 300g planted display build thread, so here it is. Credit for the name goes to Michael over at Aquatic Plant Central for cleverly calling the room an (aqua)man cave. The room's a semi-finished but well wired basement on a slab. The poor floor is really old and uneven, but it's a slab and that's what counts the most.

Tank specs-
*48x24x12 60g former frag tank with a 2" hole dead center and 2x 1" holes 3" from either side wall. The two 1" are going to get plugged and the center hole will become the drain.