My Equipment is Failing Me......

Scott07

My 65 has been up and running for about 6 months... and I thought I was doing a good job keeping all my parameters spot on. Well.... now I have two potential problems I'm dealing with despite my best efforts:

1) My inkbird heater controller seems to be on its way out after about 3 months of use. WTH.... this is very upsetting. I've never used a heater controller before, but because I'm stocking this tank w/ 90% SPS, I'm really trying to be as careful and redundant as possible. My first indication of the problem was yesterday when I did my water change. I use DT water each week to change out water in my QT. I noticed this week that after doing so, it took my heaters in the QT a few hours to bring the tank back up to temperature. Weird... but I chalked it up to an open window near the QT. Well this morning I placed two different mercury thermometers in the DT, and both are reading 76 degrees. The inkbird is set to 80. I know it was previously keeping the DT at 80, because I keep the one thermometer in my sump regularly just for verification... and it has always read spot on 80. Sooooo.... how the heck am I supposed to trust a heater controller over just the cheap built in controllers in my heaters if this is happening after 3 months? I've used just heaters with no controller for years and never had a problem.