oil making its way through Gulf food chain

Status
Not open for further replies.
If this is like any other oil spill, we'll be learning about the impact for a decade or two.

There is a difference between small long term natural seeps and sudden massive spills.

Bill is correct, the article says that animals can adapt to survive or maybe even thrive in the petroleum rich water. That would be like acclimating a fish. If you take a freshwater tetra, so can slowly acclimate it to saltwater. This may, over the long term, negatively effect the fish's health (but sometimes not). If you take the tetra from freshwater and drop it straight into your reef it will most likely be dead by morning. And that is taking two relatively similar enviroments (both composed primarly of water).

I know there is a difference between small long term spills and sudden spills. I work in the Oil Field. I am just pointing out to those who think this is the first time oil has entered the Gulf that in fact this has been occuring for a long time even if it is a slow seepage.

This article is slightly slanted, but pretty decent. Most of the data isn't in or analyzed, but the very initial data is showing that the oil is being taken care of naturally, processed by the natural bacteria in the sea.

This article, and the study results so far, does NOT indicate that any contamination of the food chain or higher organisms exists. If you read the data, it's rather encouraging and points to no long term ill effects. Basically, nature adapts very well.