Six line wrasse in a 24g cube

BuckeyeFish

Hi all,

I have a two week old 24g cube. I bypassed the natural cycle by adding plenty of “trusted” seeded media and Dr Tim’s. I am a chemistry phD student so I track the water parameters like a hawk. It’s fun for me lol.

I currently have a pair of skunk clowns, some hermits and some astrea snails. The only other fish I absolutely want to add are some sort of goby and shrimp pair as well as the six line. As far as coral, it will be LPS dominated.

I know six lines are territorial, but how do you think it will do in this environment?

First, you weirdo Chem student😂🤣. Just kidding my BIL is an Organic Chem professor at Loyola New Orleans.

I thinks the Six Line will be fine in your tank. That said, keep in mind so wrasses will go after shrimp like cleaners, peppermints, etc. Your pistol shrimp should be fine.

FWIW, my local Petco has had a six line for a couple months. Every time I go in, I’m tempted to buy him😂

FWIW, my local Petco has had a six line for a couple months. Every time I go in, I’m tempted to buy him😂
I feel that. They are a really stunning fish. I've been told my six line should be the last fish I add. Otherwise, it will be a dick to any fish that comes after it.

I think the Six Line will be fine in your tank. That said, keep in mind so wrasses will go after shrimp like cleaners, peppermints, etc. Your pistol shrimp should be fine.
After rethinking this, I’m going to correct myself and say a Six Line is probably pushing it in that size tank. Most places recommend a minimum 55 gallon for them.