T5 or LED lightening system

jmil08

Need help or suggestions for possible new lightening system. Im currently running aquaticlife lightening system with 6 T5 and lunar lights. I need a strong LED's system so that my corals at the bottom of my tank get efficient lightening. My tank dimension is 48 inches in length and 30 inches in height 150 gallons.

All suggestion would be helpful

My lighting system for the T5 are getting old (5 yrs) and I don't think they will be around for too long, so Im going to be force to get an entire new system LED only. I have tones of zoas, acans, chalices and a few sps.

You can get good growth from all kinds of leds from the cheap box D120 to radion pros depends on the application I have d120 growing everything with no problem you just dont get the controlability !

I am no expert on LED. I have tried a lot of different led fixtures and I have not been impressed with the cheeper fixtures for color on sps corals. but have been good color and growth on the corals u listed that u have. Even on the cheeper fixtures. Do u have a budget in mind?

U can spend from $400-$1600 to light that tank with leds

I am no expert on LED. I have tried a lot of different led fixtures and I have not been impressed with the cheeper fixtures for color on sps corals. but have been good color and growth on the corals u listed that u have. Even on the cheeper fixtures. Do u have a budget in mind?

I had radions and think they are great fixtures. However I personally had challenges with SPS. Great for LPS and Zoa's.

So when I see people successful growing SPS with great color I am in awe and more power to them.

From my experience, T5's & MH's are easier for SPS. They blanket light as oppose to spot lighting.

You will spend more money on T5's over the long run - but depending what you are trying to grow in your tank that may be worth it to you.

My attitude is, this hobby can be expensive.