Tang Research in Hawaii

gobyvin

http://0-departments.oxy.edu.oasys..../Claisse_et_al.2009_YT_Age_Growth_Habitat.pdf

Hello All,

I post this with no intention to start a debate, just to post information that I feel aquarists should know. I am a fisheries biologist (for the last decade and am completing a Master's Degree in fisheries science. I own a 180 gallon mixed reef with over 100 gallons of sump space and surge buckets / refugia. Most of my specimens live years. My best record to date is a royal gramma 14 years in my care. I have been FOWLR since I was 17 and I am 33 in Feb'11. I have been reefing for 8 years. I made a slow entrance due to the cost, and my moving around to stay employed in this competitive but very rewarding field.

I searched out this paper so that I could verify or refute "Snorkel Bob's" claims on Yellow Tangs life history.

I was surprised to find that the oldest fish aged was 41 years.

It appears that the science and techniques behind the study are commensurate with the best available methods to do this work. My advisor at school is an fish ageing expert, so I am somewhat qualified to know that, and my work depends on fish ages being sound for the surveys I conduct.

Just thought this would be food for thought. The abstract paragraph says it all to those that don't want to delve into the science on a Sunday morning.

Thanks to all who find this helpful/informative.:rollface:

PS- I have a Paracanthurus hepatus, a P. Euxiphops navarchus and a Foxface in that 180. P hepatus is 7 yrs old, navarchus is new to me from store and Foxface is 2 years old.

Very interesting. At a high-end age of 41 years, with a habitat and perhaps a diet change from early years (deeper, reef) to later years (turfed rocks and shallows) and about a 1" dimorphism (difference) between males and females, at about 7" max---it does raise some questions about how long and well we keep this species.