Water top off method

FTDelta

I know saltwater do evaporate in a tank. My question is which would be the best or proper way to top off your tank due to evaporation? I hear two different methods:

One, being when water evaporates, not salt, so you top off using fresh water without salt mix (RO/DI water).

Second, is top off with new saltwater.

Yeah, you top off with freshwater. No salt. The salt doesn't evaporate.

I'm not sure where you think you've heard of this other method of topping off with saltwater. That will cause salinity to steadily rise. The only time you would ever do that would be if salinity was low for some other reason and you wanted to raise it.

If you are trying to make salinity go up then topping off with saltwater is the safest way to do it slowly so you don't shock anything.

If you're looking to automate your top off, check out my youtube video on the Tsunami auto top off system, search 'Reefergil" on youtube, let me know what you think. I am also new to the hobby, so looking for advice where I can get it.

One thing I do know, is you do not top off with more saltwater. RO or RODI water only.

I remember someone saying this to me years ago, can't remember where has I have been stationed up and down the east coast. There reasoning was because as the water evaporates some salt does come out that's why you get salt creep, and the skimmer removes some salt. Now if it true or not I still have never replace with saltwater just pure old limewater. Seeing this topic makes me want to measure that guys salinity.

while we are at it, Premium Aquatics is selling that JBJ Auto top off for $69...thats as cheap as I've seen it

while we are at it, Premium Aquatics is selling that JBJ Auto top off for $69...thats as cheap as I've seen it

I've seen people pay that much for it used! That's a really good deal on a VERY solid product. I got the JBJ and its easily one of the best investments I've ever made.