290 Gallon SPS only Frag tank build.

moatdaddy

Hello ladies and gents, and even smelly reefers. My name is Brandon and i have been keeping saltwater aquariums since 1995. I have learned a lot, forgotten some things, and grown as the hobby has. I wish the videos BRS has on youtube today would have given me a guiding hand when i was thirteen years old. The hobby has always fascinated me, haunting my dream when i do not have a tank up. Literally when i was in Iraq or afghanistan i would get lost in huge fish stores. Of course that was why i got lost, I love corals and saltwater fish. I have gotten the opportunity to visit many place and aquariums around the world and have finally bought a house to call home.

I was awarded the garage. My man cave of freedom. Of course for now its a SPS room. Wife got spare bedroom and dining room, no offense to old people but they are only ones who dine in a separate room now imo.

So i have this nice garage space, in sunny Panama City Beach Florida. I am recovering from another surgery from a helicopter accident and i hope this one will make it so i can have mobility to take care of my new project. Enough about me, lets get into the build.

290 Gallon System.

50 gallon rubbermaid frag tank.
300 gallon rubbermaid sump. "For real this thing is silly big," she said.

I know your doing the math and saying thats 350g. well i am going to ensure if somehow the frag tank drains into the sump it can handle the water. the extra 10 gallons is just so the water line is not at spill over point. In the end the system may even be less than 290 and i am okay with that.

Why did i choose rubbermaid tanks?

First i dont care what they look like from the side, and second is cost. Lastly they have a proven record of keeping corals just fine.

Salt. I have some extra salt from a 210 gallon build i tore down a year ago, reef crystal. I will use that for now. I ordered Hw marinemix reefer from BRS. From here on that is the only salt i will use.