Florida Keys scuba dive packages for beginners

Syntax1325

Acro Addict
My wife and I are looking to visit the keys for two days in a couple of weeks and I have a couple of questions about scuba diving:

1) My wife and I are total beginners with no scuba experience... Is it possible to get lessons and dive on a reef in a day?

2) Can we stay close to Key Largo or Marathon... I'd like to keep the travel close since we'll be traveling from Titusville.

3) Can you recommend a place that offers beginners packages with a good reputation?

Any help would be appreciated.... thanks.

1) My wife and I are total beginners with no scuba experience... Is it possible to get lessons and dive on a reef in a day?

Resorts in some other countries may do this, I did it in Jamaica, but I don't think you'll find anything like it here in the states.

2) Can we stay close to Key Largo or Marathon... I'd like to keep the travel close since we'll be traveling from Titusville.

There are lots of motels and hotels in both places.

3) Can you recommend a place that offers beginners packages with a good reputation?

If you want to dive you need to get certified at home which takes several days of classes and 2 open water dives. If you want to snorkel, it's easy and can be just as much fun. Personally, I enjoy snorkeling more. It's a long thread, but if you read through it you'll find good info about being able to snorkel right off the beach and/or charters to the big reefs: http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2511350

Any help would be appreciated.... thanks.

I agree with Ron, in the Caribbean you'll find plenty of other countries that offer " no experience required diving" ..

I have never seen this here in the states, probably has to do with the liabilities involved in this.
Although it is normally a safe experience, it can also be fatal without proper training and carelessness.
I also recommend you get certified in your area. Check out the FAQs on PADI