Hi all, new potential reefkeeper here...

Osteomata

I am a new potential reef aquarium guy in the Miami area, and I thought I would say hello and introduce myself. I also have several questions at the bottom of the post, and I am looking to buy the equipment associated with my reef plan.

I have lived in Miami Beach off and on for about six years, but only got into aquariums one year ago. My wife, out of the blue, gave me a guppy in a bowl, and I thought I would try to keep it alive. So I did a bunch of research in the interwebs. I stumbled across several freshwater planted tank forums, and was instantly entranced by the Amano style planted aquascapes. So began my addiction. I have two freshwater heavily planted tanks, which I recently moved to my office, making room for a tank at home. I intend to make it a reef aquarium.

I have been researching (sporadically) marine and reef tanks for about 5 months now, and I am ready to make the plunge. I began acquiring equipment this week. So far I have a refractomer and AquaC Urchin Pro skimmer. Iââ"šÂ¬Ã¢"žÂ¢m reasonably knowledgeable about water chemistry, and understand the full eco-system approach to maintaining an aquatic environment, but I still feel quite overwhelmed by the extraordinary variety of things to manage in a reef aquarium. Here is my loose plan, any recommendations are welcome:

Tank: Original intent was to get a 54 reef-ready corner and put it in the bedroom. I am now concerned about noise level from the overflow and pumps, considering it will be about 4 feet from our bed. I am considering shifting the plan to a standard 55 reef-ready, and putting it the main room of the condo. I am very space limited, so if I put it in the main room, it canââ"šÂ¬Ã¢"žÂ¢t be bigger than a 48x13.