Lazy reefkeeper needs advice

waverz

Slave to the reef!
I have a nearly totally automated 60 gallon cube that contains mostly SPS with a LPS. The bio load is very low as I only have a few small fish.

I have been doing 1 gallon water changes daily for nearly 2 years via my LMIII. I never check water parameters anymore but was curious what they were so I made a visit to a friend who actually had some tesk kids that weren't over a year expired like mine were.

I was shocked at how low my parameters were.

Alk 5dKh
Ca 330ppm
Mag 900ppm

That would explain the slowing of SPS growth over the last several months.
In the past I assumed corals would be dead but my corals all look great, they just are growing very slowly.

I was wanting to add some new coral to the system but figured I better try and get my water back to "ideal levels" before adding anything else.

I am wondering what the easiest way of getting things back in check would be.

I am leery of doing large water changes because I know I have ammonia in my source water that apparently gets past my RODI. Anything more than just a few gallons at a time really causes a bad reaction which has led me to only changing 1 gallon a day.

I was wondering if I could just add some supplements to my 30 gallon fresh saltwater reservoir rather than dosing the tank directly. This way I could slowly increase levels and not have to worry about an ammonia spike.

Would this be an ideal solution or would dosing the tank directly be a better choice?

I would confirm your ammonia levels somehow. What test are you using? I'd at least compare the results to distilled water to test the integrity of your kit.

I agree changing the filters would be a first step if you confirm ammonia in the source water. The carbon filter should absorb it.