Looking for my first 6' reef tank and equipment

reeftorlax

Hello, I'm new here but live in the LA area. I'm brand new to this hobby and am still doing a ton of research to getting started as intelligently as possible.

I would like a 6'x2'x2' (no bigger) as my first tank. The reason is I would like to have 1-2 tangs. I'm looking for the tank first and then the equipment right after.

This is what I see that I will need so far:

1) Tank (can weld my own stand)
2) Sump (I may build this)
3) Protein skimmer
4) Light
5) Powerhead and wave generator
6) External overflow tank
7) Rock (haven't decided on dry or live yet)

So, I need basically everything and my list keeps growing. I went to a few LFS's and I think I can be more economical buying the right equipment from different places or making some of it myself.

I know there is a ton I don't know. If you have any of this you'd like to offload, especially a tank, please let me know. I'm actively looking now and will hopefully buy my tank by the end of the week.

I don't know how to edit my original post. I would prefer a glass tank as I'm sure I'll be an idiot and scratch an acrylic one.

You're going to need a tank that's reef ready and already drilled for an overflow. You don't want an external overflow that relies on siphon.

Is this your first reef tank? There is a tonnnn of time, money, and experience needed to get a tank that size running smoothly. Yeah you could save a couple bucks and buy used, but in the long run, unless you really know what you're doing, you're better off starting with fresh new equipment. If I decided with a tank that size my budget would be no less than 5k just for equipment.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

You're going to need a tank that's reef ready and already drilled for an overflow. You don't want an external overflow that relies on siphon.