New here - well sort of

First off - Hi all, it's great to be back!

I decided today to get back in! I have roughly 10 years experience and got out in 2016 (mentally a bit earlier than that due to life happening and my tank suffered(. I had a 92 gallon corner with MH lighting and was very active in swaps. I don't want to get back into it, but rather to have something to dabble with and enjoy.

So today, I ordered a 20gallon Red Sea Max. I also got the DIY screen for the top. I ordered 30 lbs Pink Fiji, 20 lbs CaribSea dry live rock. I went with Nyos Pure salt mix and ordered a full battery of Hanna test kits and TDS / PH meter. That will do me to keep me occupied and start the cycle.

Next will be the fun part.

I'm thinking for the inverts:
One cleaner or fire Shrimp
Snails - What kind and how many for a nano?
One fan worm
Absolutely no crabs!

Corals
Very simple, zoa garden and maybe some acan. I don't plan to get into fragging and trading again.

Then the fish - I know this is too many and I have time to pare the list down.
First will probably be a Royal Gramma for color

Then (all are just maybe), only one of anything
Hector's Goby
Helfrichi Firefish
Black fantom or storm clown
Blue Dot jawfish
Mandarin Goby (not until the tank matures way down the road)

Thoughts?

I can't wait to get started again!

Last edited:
Welcome back to the hobby. If you are not new to RC and have a previous account, @JohnL may be able to recover your original account for you.

Sounds like you have a good plan and are approaching this with patience (y)
As far as snails, I'd recommend a variety for cleaning different areas of the tank. Turbo snails and Trochus are both good species but they are Pacific species and a little pricier than Caribbean/Gulf snails. If you want a good mix of Caribbean/Gulf, look into KP Aquatics, Reef Cleaners or Reeftopia.

Here's a crabless cleaner crew from Reef Cleaners for a 25 gallon.
1706122341402.png