Stomatopod facts?

nonpareilpearl

I am in the process of compiling a list of "easy to remember" facts (think bullet-point style, ~100-120 characters or less) for a page I'm making for my mantis tank. Here are a few I have to start:
  • Mantis shrimps are of the order Stomatopoda.
  • There are ~400 species of mantis shrimps (stomatopoda).
  • Dr. Roy Caldwell (PhD) has been studying stomatopods for over 30 years at UC Berkeley! See more info here: http://www.ucmp.berkeley.edu/aquarius/index.html

I'm trying to make the list as long as possible so I can cycle through/update the list. Does anyone have any ideas for some more?

Here's one that doesn't often make it into the fact sheets, but I have learned from experience...

Every mantis shrimp has it's own personality. Similar species can have notably different behavioral characteristics.

A couple of corrections.

There are over 500 described species of stomatopods.

I started studying stomatopods in Bermuda in 1965 while a graduate student at the University of Iowa. I took a faculty position at U.C. Berkeley in 1970 where I have been ever since.

Roy

48 years of stomatopod studys and counting!
*bows chanting "We'er not worthy. We'er not worthy!"*
Thank you for all your help and understanding.

A couple of corrections.

There are over 500 described species of stomatopods.

I started studying stomatopods in Bermuda in 1965 while a graduate student at the University of Iowa. I took a faculty position at U.C. Berkeley in 1970 where I have been ever since.

Roy

48 years wow! I'm curious how many stomatopods have you owned and researched? :spin1: