The 300G SPS & Angel Tank

roberthu526

After keeping fish for over three years and keeping reef tanks for over two year, I have finally started my dream build. This is something I have planned for over a year and been actively preparing since last June. But I didn't really know if or when it was going to happen until my wife gave the green light a month ago :celeb3:

Brief background: I have been keeping fish for a little over three years. First year was just fresh water tropical fish. Then in February of 2016 I started trying out saltwater fish and I thought I would never get into reefing because all corals seem so boring to me: they don't move or even eat. However after merely 2 months I started to realize that a tank with just fish and rocks were even more boring :eek2:
picture.php

My first salt water tank was a 40G breeder and it quickly escalated to a 125G which I am still running. Although everything is going pretty well with this tank, there are a couple of not-so-good side of this system: 1st, the dimension is not ideal: 5' long and only 1.5' deep. It is very hard to create depth. 2nd, the tank is overstocked with three tangs:headwally:, one foxfish, three wrasses and one anthias. Three fishes are over 6" already and one of the wrasses is around 5" already. I need something bigger! 3rd, the tank is filled with LPS and I love angels!:headwally:

So with the new build, I am going to make it a angelfish dominant tank. I plan to get six large angels: a pair of regal, goldflake, and majestic each. And I want to have some dwarf angels like flame angel, coral beauty and potters or flameback. I want to have a total of 9-10 angels in this new tank. Plus the fish I already have in the LPS tank, it's probably going to be overstocked again.