The mirror and slr?

Reef Bass

colors and textures
Historically, single lens reflex cameras offered two primary advantages, the abilities to change lenses and to see in the viewfinder through the lens exactly what would be striking the film emulsion. No parallax.

With the advent of the digital imaging sensor, it is possible to see exactly what is striking the sensor without requiring a mirror. Some dslr manufacturers are making interchangeable lens cameras without mirrors.

While I've been working with slr type cameras for almost 40 years, I could embrace a mirrorless system. IMHO, this would allow for a physical change eliminating the mirror mechanism, resulting in reductions in size, weight and mechanical complexity. No moving parts. And possibly even improved ergonomics as the physical size of the image capture mechanism is no longer a driving design consideration.

When I shoot remotely using live view, the mirror is locked up and out of the way and I don't have to peer through a tiny viewfinder to try to focus something pinpoint sharp. I love that.

While I'm not about to jump on the Sony A7, if Canon made a full frame mirrorless with an EF mount, I'd consider moving to it. This is also consistent with the guideline of invest in lenses and swap out your back as needed.

What are your thoughts on the future of the mirror and slr design?

Does the mirror do something for you in your process that you would miss?

Or will slr cameras soon be joining vinyl record players and CRT displays on the obsolete hardware shelves of history?