Vodka to Zeo

JustinReef

I have been dosing vodka for a few months again now (successfully) but want to start Zeo. Is there anything I should watch out for with stopping Vodka and starting with zeo?

Can I just start the zeo like you normally would?

I am just starting with the reactor and 3 basics.

Thanks!

Genetics

Hands deep in water
Team RC
Premium Member
Depending on how far zeo you plan to go on your first day, my guess would be that you may want to cut back on vodka a bit or more. If you are going with zeolites I would cut vodka in half. If you are going to start adding there products, then I would surmise using half there recommendation and half vodka for a few days. If you are using both zeolites and additives only add 25% vodka and 50% zeo additives. That would be were I would start.

JustinReef

Thanks...I am a bit confused though.

Is this advice based on continued vodka dosing?

The point of starting zeo was to "replace" vodka dosing. It should theoretically do the same thing and a lot more. Although I don't exactly know what vodka is doing to my tank long term...

I am getting way too uneasy about vodka dosing even though it seems to be working ok right now. The reason for starting was I have a very high bioload. It was suggested to me right away to start zeo (good with high bioload) but instead I thought I would try vodka dosing again (failed the first time) to keep my nitrates down.

So I am unsure about how to transition. Part of me still doesn't want to stop with the vodka and saving money by NOT running zeo would be nice...

JustinReef

Maybe I should ask peoples opinion...although I know where this could go!

Is there that much of an advantage to running Zeo to achieve low nutrients over dosing vodka to achieve low nutrients. I understand they are not quite doing the same thing but my reason behind both are the same. I want to keep nitrates down.