Current Drought in California

Abraham Arcega

Hello my name is Abraham and I'm a college student at UCSB and I'm asking my fellow hobbyists about their thoughts on the current drought here in California. It is part of a research project I'm conducting and I would be very interested of getting feedback from anyone in state or all around. Some questions I would like to be answered is it affecting any aspect of your hobby, are you thinking of how much water you use for your aquariums, have you changed your water change routine to conserve water, have you invested in a new RO/DI that is more efficient (produces less water waste), and have you taken any other actions in this current situation? If it is not too much trouble please reply and voice your opinion, please and thank you.

No offense to your experiment, but I personally don't buy the whole drought theory. 75% of the planet is covered in water, so I don't buy into the drought scare. I live in California and our idiot state keeps letting water out of our reservoirs and then they complain about drought when we have a less rainy season. It's all part of the planets natural climate change.... 1 year tons of rain.....next year barely any rain. I take 2 showers a day at an average of 30 minutes each and I remove those annoying 2.5GPM restrictors on all my shower heads. I do water changes very frequently and don't think twice about it when it comes to the well being of my livestock. Google how submarines get their drinking water......this same technology could be applied at a much larger scale in communities where water is scarce, of course it would be billions of dollars but it could be done. California now wants to pipe water out from the DELTA and our local farmers are trying to fight it. Again, I don't mean to sound insensitive but I use all the water I want......I'm not buying into the environmentalist agenda. Sorry, and good luck with your experiment.

Last edited: