Eat organic food to help save reefs!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Robka

4 years ago (after a Cancer scare) & following doctors advice, my wife and I began to take a serious look at the food we put in our bodies. I am a certified personal trainer and have been health conscious for a long time, but like many, had no clue about the effect that petroleum based chemicals had on the food we, eat, the water we drink & the environment around us. My wife and I just returned from a vacation in Costa Rica and we were able to witness first hand evidence of how chemicals from banana plantations have destroyed the majority of reefs in that area. It makes me sick to my stomach when I see people choose to ignore issues like this to save a couple of bucks. For example; at my grocery store organic bananas are .99 cents a pound compared to .79 cents a pound for chemically raised bananas. I know that anyone on this forum in the first place, can definitely afford to pay .20 cents more for their bananas, so why are more people not making that choice?:confused:

I kind of figured this wouldn't be a popular thread, as many don't want to change the way they live (especially in today's economy) or worry about how their everyday lives affect the world around them, but there has to be others in this hobby that care enough to wonder why more people don't take steps to help the health of our planet (not to mention the health of their own families)???

Were you able to view an organic banana plantation while there and how it differed from the non-organic?

I'm guessing at only $.20/lb there isn't a whole lot of difference in farming practice, other than how they label them. There isn't a whole lot of teeth to the organic labeling, especially imported food. Besides, organic doesn't address land use, spreading organic cow-poop over the plantations as fertilizer would be just as damaging as using chemicals.

Rick