New reefer with question

Finis

Hey guys! Just wanted to say hi. I'm new to this hobby and four months in. Pretty addicted to it! Any of you have experience with a reef octopus hob 1000?

Anything reef octopus is usually quiet and efficient. Quiet being more important than you would imagine. They are all pretty efficient when dialed in correctly.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Welcome. I have a SRO-XP1000SSS from reef octopus and mine is very sensitive to water level height. If my sump level goes up by .25" it will overflow. I run too skimmers side by side. The other one is ASM GC3 and it is much harder to get it to overflow. They both seem to work well and pull out the same amount but the reef octopus is more sensitive.
One more thing my reef octopus was shipped in very cold weather and it had cracks and stress fractures I think from the cold. I had to have the collection cup replaced. Makes me think they are cheaply made but what is not now days.

Well I had bought one and it has been a month but has not produced any gunk. I have primed it correctly several times to make that wasn't it. Air line does not have any blockage. Salinity is at .25. Even took it apart once to make sure o rings were seated correctly. I'll give it another week before I call customer support. Just wondering if I should "hang on" or just sell it and get another.

I'm 50/50 on Reef Octopus products. Some are great value for the money. Others are garbage better not bought. I have an SRO 6000 EXT. The thing is a BEAST!

I've never been a HOB fan, not matter what the make. Best one I've had experience with was the Deltec MCE600, that being said I sold it after a year and went with a sump.

I like external skimmers the best. Mainly because you have easier control over three variables instead of just two. Best of luck!!!