should I get wet dry or a hang on filter

newreef06

Im new to this hobby. I was at my LFS and I was asking about the different filters. I have a 55 Gl tank. The owner said don't get a canister filter or wet dry. Buy a Emporor 400. Thats the 2 bio wheels that hang on the back on the tank.He also said if you have live sand power heads and live rock you don't need a filter. Is that true. Also whats the differance between a wet dry filter a sump and a refigum. The last one isnt spelled right. Can someone help. You guys have been a great help so far

Scott

if your going to have live rock, the bacteria in the rock is you biological filter, you dont want a wet dry,

i have seen canister filters on tanks with rock only with the boiballs or bio media taken out

a sump is usually just a tub or tank below to put equipment (filter socks skimmer heater etc) or to add more water for tank volume

a refugium is kinda of like a 2nd tank tied in to your system that uses macro algae/live rock/live sand to help export nutrients

Live Sand and Live Rock offer a great bio filter but I still think it's important to have filter. I use a sponge filter that I connect to the tube that takes water down to my Sump. I'm sure hang-on filters like the Emperor 400 do a great job but I personally wouldn't use them because I like the idea of having a clean tank with less hardware. So, I have a sump, and in the sump is where I place my heater, and my skimmer. A skimmer is also a very important peice of machinery to have in an aquarium.

Do you have a skimmer? Skip the wet/dry, skip the hang on filters, and get yourself a good skimmer (and I suggest you stay away from the seaclone brand skimmer, which is probably the only one your LFS stocks).

I would ditch the Red Sea and look at the CoraLife SuperSkimmers or the AquaC Remora for hang-ons. The Red Sea skimmers don't get very many good reviews.