Strange Orange Dots. Please help

xLennie

Hey Guys,

Hope you are well.

It's Lennie. I am an experienced hobbyist in freshwater fishkeeping with 24 tanks and 15yr+ experience. One month ago, I wanted to setup myself a saltwater tank for the first time.

To cycle my tank, I used raw shrimp from the supermarket (not shelled, just directly a shrimp as it is), put it into a purigen bag, and kept it in the tank around 2 days until it leeched enough ammonia to start the cycle based on my test results. When I bought the shrimp, I didnt have my tank running so I froze it for a couple days while the tank was ready. I used dry rocks, the shell my family gifted me from their trip to Thailand, "live sand" which is basically a sand that has buffering capacity and some sea water in it. It is a shallow nano tank. I used AF Bio S to cycle the tank.

Anyway, as the cycle is complete, I wanted to do a a big water change before introducing my first fish. While doing the water change, I noticed orange dots around the shell. They are a bit slimey, comes off very easily when I wipe with paper towel. Before using the shell, I used %3 hydrogen peroxide to clean it, mainly the inside, and then washed it all over.

I am confused on what these orange dots are. I did not introduce anything actually alive to the tank. Some people mentioned flatworms. I don't have saltwater experience yet, but I am familiar with some flatworms from freshwater hobby. These don't feel like any sort of flatworms, at least to me. I have not noticed any movements either.

Any ideas?

Would love to hear from you guys. Please do that these spots are no where in the tank other than the shell itself. All the glasses, sand and dry rocks are perfectly clear. I checked in detail, but haven't seen a single spot.

Pics under tank lights ( a bit like neon orange) and under daylight:

c8db43b2-f95b-47e0-89ac-c5c0beca1b76 (1).jpeg
0b5aef00-2cdd-4430-8c52-1b2349e8757e (1).jpeg
c402597c-9cc3-4ed7-b07b-492e9f05cb89.jpeg