Stressed(??) Perc Clown or Pairing?? HELP

chiarione

I'm a Newbie to Saltwater tanks & new to this site, so I hope this posting is ok in this forum.

Anyway, new tank cycled for a month, live rock, live sand, small cleaner crabs, few snails, 1 skunk shrimp cleaner.

I added 2 perc clowns on 1/8/06. Both about 1.5". One slightly larger & brighter than the other. In the beginning the smaller one has been the aggressor-nipping at the slightly larger one and the slightly larger 1 has been giving the submissive behavior.
Since then I have been watching this "funny" action - seizure stuff, etc. I just read all about the pairing/breeding ritual and figured out that was what was going on.

The problem? For the last three days, the smaller one has now become a recluse in the back of the tank & won't even come out to eat. Its' breathing is soooo rapid!! I figured it wasn't getting enough oxy, so I added an add'l powerhead. The larger perc is staying with it all the time (but comes out to eat) now. No one is nipping at anyone. There is no other sign of disease, etc.

I have been diligent with water top-offs, partial change, testing, etc. all testing looks excellent. I am sooo worried about the smaller one. Do you think this is part of the pairing process???Is someone changing sex on me???

I don't know what to do...I also have a small brain coral & BTA coming tomorrow..YIKES! I'm afraid I've screwed something up.

Help!! Any suggestions? Comments??

Thanks group!
Diana :confused:

Can you provide any more tank info? Size, temp, test kit readings? Are you running a skimmer? How much live rock? Any other tank inhabitants besides the clowns and cleanup crew?

More tank info-Barkingcrab

More tank info-Barkingcrab

20 gal, no skimmer, no other critters, temp stays at 78, SG at 1.022, ammonia=ideal, ph=ideal, alkalinity=ideal,nitrite=safe, nitrate=ideal to okay.

Got about 15-20 lbs of live rock (?) forgot now exact weight.