Which butterflies will eat aiptasia

wvned

Premium Member
I have not been able to keep file fish in my 240. They dont do well in the flow. I am thinking of adding a butterfly in the hopes it can deal with the flow and not make the tangs go off on it.
I need to find a larger fish and an wondering which types to look at?
I have a Kleins in the other tank but he isnt very big and I hate to take him out of a tank he is happy in..

Do you have corals in the 240? If not, a Raccoon Butterfly might work for you. Years ago in the 450 I had a Majano problem and the Raccoon made quick work of those.

I’ve heard Kleins, raccoon and copperband. I have no experience with either of them but the pick based on past research appears to be the Kleins.

I’ve heard Kleins, raccoon and copperband. I have no experience with either of them but the pick based on past research appears to be the Kleins.
I have a Kleins and Raccoon now. I had a Copperband in with them for several years but he passed.
There are no aiptasia in that tank but I don't know which eats them.
There are corals in the 240. The only ones they could eat are the euphyllia. That would make me unhappy.
I have 2 filefish in the 75 right now. Watching them swim has convinced me they are never going to work in the 240.

The other more long term option might be investing in a dozen or so Berghia and let them populate as they eat

The other more long term option might be investing in a dozen or so Berghia and let them populate as they eat
I think they would simply be fish food. I only have a few tiny aiptasia in the cracks. I no longer have a large number of them anywhere in the system.

How about Peppermint shrimp? I’ve had pretty good luck with those over the years. That said, depending on this fish you have in the 240, that may not be an option.

How about Peppermint shrimp? I’ve had pretty good luck with those over the years. That said, depending on this fish you have in the 240, that may not be an option.