griss’ Battle with Cyano - all the Things I’ve Tried

griss

RC Mod
Staff member
RC Mod
Anyone have any experience with Dr. Tim’s Cyano Treatment? In 36 years in this hobby I've never had such a problem with cyano. I've been battling it for at least 6 months.

I have a 40BR drilled in the back with an eshopps through the tank overflow. I have (2) 520 gph powerheads and a 230 gph powerhead on a Red Sea wavemaker. 10 gallon sump with filter sock which I change at least twice a week. eshopps cone skimmer rated for 120 gallons. 500 gph return pump. I run GFO and carbon. Lighting is 175 watt MH pendant with 10K bulb and (2) LED actinic light bars. I have about 1" Caribbsea sand on the bottom of the tank (which I vacuum once every couple of weeks) and about 35 pounds of rock. All water parameters are good and I do a 5-gallon water change once a week. Yes, I know based on my setup I'm old school;)

My RO/DI system is set up as follows. 5 micron sediment filter, 5 micron Chloramine carbon block, 1 micron carbon block, 75 gpd membrane, Anion cartridge, Cation cartridge and finally a mix bed DI cartridge. Water out of the membrane is 7-8 TDS and product water is 0 TDS. TDS meter is calibrated.

Minimal livestock in the tank. 1 Caribbean Hawkfish and 2 Clarkii Clowns, a rock anemone, 2 gorgonians, a handful of R. Florida, numerous Zoas, some Caribbean Stony corals that came on my KP Aquatics live rock and some snail and hermits.

This tank has been set up for a couple of years and has been very successful until the last 6 months or so. For the life of me, I cannot figure out WTH is going on.

Last edited:
Is there an actual product that i don't see or is it the Re-fresh/Waste-away combination protocol?

Algae - Cyano - Dinos | DrTim's Aquatics

After reading the instructions it almost seems like turning off your skimmer and doing nothing else might work (since he suggests the skimmer is removing cyano's competitors).